Fun in The Sun!

Well, if you need any proof that too much of a good thing can be rather bad for you then have a read of this. I think the sun got to me… big time! Junior son and I have been walking almost every day this last week. On one or two occasions I got the ‘Zimmer’ going as well… just so the grandkids don’t feel left behind.

Then on Saturday the rays eventually got the better of me! Junior son was feeling a little under the weather… either the results of the previous day’s cycle or a sniffle. Well, he didn’t feel up for the walk I proposed… I wanted to start at Lock 17, (Fern’s or Ferran’s) map 4 of IWAI maps (I don’t want to over-stay my welcome on their site but they have OK’d the use if I credit them… yes, they do a great job.. please have a look… and learn.)

So the good lady dropped me off at the lock just after noon. I was fortunate to catch sight of a barge entering the second chamber… just before the gates closed… that was just the start of a great day…

My original plan was to walk 6 or so kilometers back to Enfield and home… little did I know! Not long after the walk started I met 3 fellows having their brunch… more like lunch 😉 … I stopped off to chat briefly… they set off from Dublin the previous day… all along the Royal Canal… by bike, carrying their camping gear, provisions and equipment.

I mention this because we kept bumping into each other until the last fellow eventually left me behind about a kilometer west of Furey’s… (all will be revealed in the slide show…)

The clouds drifted away and the cool breeze abated as I walked… so, when I approached Enfield I rang the good lady, no… they had not even got going to the shops… OK, I’ll walk on… fine… she promised to collect me wherever I managed to get to…

I trudged on… well, not really trudged… the feet were getting slightly sore but the going was good so I kept at it… the promise of a long cold tinny as my end of trip reward tempting me ever on 😉

So… when I approached Kilmore bridge… the first possible collection place past Enfield, I again rang the better half… no, they were still shopping… OK, I’ll continue… hurry, I said… I’m thirsty! One can only re-hydrate with soooo much water!

The section of canal between Kilmore Bridge and Furey’s is tree-lined and picturesque… pleasant patches of dappled shade cooled things down a little. Furey’s came and went… I kept going… the feet and back starting to take a bit more strain now…

The good lady eventually dragged herself out of the shops… hours after getting there! What for you may ask? Last minute Easter egg additions to an already growing pile… hours, I kid you not 😉 … I managed to drag my weary body as far as the Boyne Aqueduct (map 6) … enough! I waited some minutes… Eventually her good self arrived… cold tinny in tow… after 6 in the evening…

The rays sure got to me… I did a bit of rough gestimating when I got home… about 16 kilometers… not bad for an afternoon’s work! The slides are in sequential order… a little cyber journey from Fern’s to The Boyne… most of the photo’s are from Saturdays mini-marathon… I’ve included a few from other days… just for illustration… 😉

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The walking along the canal has got me fired up… I want to see if we can complete the stretch from the Boyne to the next lock at Thomastown before the end of the holiday… we have now done more than half… so, let’s just keep on going!

C’est la vie…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Dublin & Leinster Architecture & Other Interesting Sights, Local Curiosity, Reflections, Royal Canal, The Birds and the Bees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fun in The Sun!

  1. Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web site,
    and your views are nice in favor of new visitors.

    Like

  2. seo software says:

    We stumbled over here different web address and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time.

    Like

  3. onyx jewelry says:

    Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform
    like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Thank you!

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Definitly WP… it’s free for the first while, well, until you reach the initial 3 Gig level. I pay under 20 per year for 10 Gig… I’ll likely never use it but it’s there.

      I started blind, with the only advice to start with WP. I have no regrets. I don’t like some of the other formats and I won’t go comrecial as I feel it will ruin my blog’s image.

      Anyway, about the only other advice I have is to just get on with it! Don’t be shy… get a move on, you’ll love it!

      On 12 June 2013 12:16, Ouch!! My back hurts!!

      Like

  4. Johnette says:

    You know many people don’t seriously realize the benefits of writing a blog. Or even just the amount of work that goes into making a blog website. In all honesty blogging can be a lot of fun as well as a great way to increase your own brand or perhaps business.

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    excellent blog love the photos of wildlife

    Like

  6. bumblebee says:

    … love reading this blog…. one of the best….. modest, unpretentious, funny… a real pleasure….

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

