Kilcock… Enigma or Reality?

Sometimes the conflicts of silence get too much for me… what do I post? Usually I have plenty to say… the regular visitors to this blog will willingly testify to that ailment. Waffle… that’s what the good lady wife calls it. I must confess, again… I have to agree… very reluctantly. I waffle…

Then, while planning today’s post I change tack totally. Why… the photo’s tell the tale, don’t you think? The time for a haircut arrived quite suddenly. Haircut? Yes… a proper harvest. I’ve been invited for an interview… yep, you read right. So… step one in the preparation process… off to Mick The Barber… the man with the tallest pole in Kilcock and maybe even the northern hemisphere. That’s barbers pole…

Mick is rooting around in the rear of the store… he emerges while I’m studying some of the latest art collectibles added to the already burgeoning display… this man has class… he has taste and quite a few newly installed gadgets… but I digress… jumping the game again. Let me start with one of the new window adornments…

The question that springs to mind... why drink and drive if you can smoke and fly?? 😉 😛 😉

He sits me down to start the process… scissors, clippers… banter… chat… the odd lighter moment. I should really visit more often. Weekly shear? Not on your life! Then… out slips a sigh… times are tight… and all this after almost 20 years at this lark, he says.

Yes, Mick The Barber is celebrating the twentieth anniversary today.

May that time span double in length… and then some. Unlike the demise of the latest wall decoration… Mick’s aviation creation… poor wall…

Plane walls? Graffiti at it's most creative... 😉

The next lad arrives and they promptly agree to a photo shoot… the results speak for themselves…

Tools of the trade... really? 😀

See what I mean about the art collection? There’s something for everyone’s taste… from the moderns all the way back to the classics… and some industrial in between. OK… to summarise… let’s hope Mick is around for a few years more… make that 20 odd, so… if you’re in the neighbourhood… drop in and chat… you’ll come away rather enriched. And… you’ll have a very large smile on your rejuvenated face!

And just to prove that undercutting… side snipping… top cutting… whatever cutting… doesn’t pay in this village… to all you home cutters… Mick has the answer… read it and weep!

You bet! You fix a lot more!! Long may it last!!

PS – I’ll keep you posted on the invitation to visit the inside of an interview room…

PSS – Saturday again… enjoy your weekend… lads, start it off well… off to Mick for a chop and chat… what better way to get your mo-jo revived… 😉 Some good man talk… never harmed anyone??

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Family & Life, Local Curiosity, Local Places and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kilcock… Enigma or Reality?

  1. BJM says:

    Mick, my dearest old friend I have nothing but the greatest memories, thank you. x
    And to the person that posted this artical, thank you for that, i haven’t seen or spoken with Mick in many many years and I am happy to see that it looks like he may not have changed that much.

    I am very sad right now.
    BJM

    Like

  2. Will says:

    Lovely article, rip mick, Dax wax will always remind me of you and your barber shop !

    Like

  3. Garry Barcoe says:

    RIP Mick

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    Really enjoyed reading this Darren,

    nthank you 🙂 rip mick

    Like

  5. Firefly says:

    This must be one of those places where you sit and admire the decor so much that you are done (in this case with your haircut) before you even realise it. So when is the interview? Good luck.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      It is… just visiting on it’s own is worthwhile… I’m waiting to hear the definite details about the interview, it should be about mid month… I’ll explain later.. 😉

      Like

  6. good luck aj! 😛

    Like

  7. Gaelyn says:

    Love the barber shop, especially that first sign.

    Good luck with the interview.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      He’s a man after my own heart! 😉 Apparently that sign got a mention on a radio show… our Mick is getting more famous by the day… 😛

      Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.