Africa and Truth – Hemingway Style!

A fellow at work quipped the following while we were discussing a particular issue we’re experiencing…

true at first light and a lie by noon…

He then went on to inform me that it is a Hemingway special… about Africa! I made a mental note to look for the quote as I’d not seen or heard it before.

In Africa a thing is true at first light and a lie by noon and you have no more respect for it than for the lovely, perfect weed-fringed lake you see across the sun-baked plain. You have walked across that plain in the morning and you know that no such lake is there. But now it is there, absolutely true, beautiful and believable.

So apt, that was my initial response. Yes, that is the way of Africa. That’s why you can never take things at face value. That’s why the place is in constant turmoil, not constant regeneration. Africa, as I have written before, is the perfect exponent of the “Chaos Theory”

Everything tends to return to a state of chaos… often in the quickest and most violent way… tearing anything in its way apart as it goes on its road to hell.

Sorry, I’ve embellished the theory to suit my needs for that expression of faith sums up for me a short and simple way of describing the way I see things in Africa going.

Sunrise over the James Joyce Tower at Sandycove, Dublin, Ireland

As I don’t have a photo of an African sunrise I’ll share an Irish one with you… stormy skies…

PS – I now have the red bit of the quote attached to the rear of my work hard-hat! Charming!!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Family & Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Africa and Truth – Hemingway Style!

  1. Isn’t this the truth? No good news seems to come out of Africa. I can’t remember the last time.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      The last time I heard good news out of Africa was when my daughter sent on a photo of our newest granddaughter!! But, is saying that… I always worry about their safety!!

      Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

