The Calling Canvas?

I’ll begin today by divulging a secret… no, it’s nothing earth shattering. Actually, to many, it’s not even a secret. I have, in the past, been known to slap paint on the odd canvas, occasionally with mild success. I’ve not attempted anything remotely artistically connected with a piece of paper or canvas for quite some time but the other day I was walking past the sale bins in the local store when a large canvas stopped me in my tracks and begged to be taken home.

Yes, I bowed to the demands and now the canvas has a new home. However, now it’s staring at me every time I walk in or out of our bedroom. It’s still wrapped in it’s plastic coat but I’m sure it’s mocking me… whispering something along these lines…

“Chicken… you can’t tame me! You’re clueless!! Chicken!!”

I quake… I am clueless but I’m not going to pass by the begging canvas’ pleas to bring it home. Why would I bring home a canvas if I’m going to allow it to torment me? No, I’ll have you and the canvas know that I’m going to turn it’s pale white skin into something brighter… something with many lines and shapes… like a multicoloured patchwork coat.

My plan? Easy. Many moons ago I posted about doing a “Mondrian” impersonation. Do click here and do a bit of time travel back to January 2012. There you’ll see the inspiration for that post. Today I’ll include a similar photo, only this one is in landscape. And there you have it… my problem. Should I do a vertical or horizontal rendition?

Can it be done? Turning this pic into a

OK… now the story has snuck out. One thing though… please don’t tell the canvas yet… I’ve still got to pluck up the courage to rip off it’s flimsy old boring coat!

PS – It’s Friday… again! Enjoy your day and may you have a great weekend!

PSS – The barge you see down there in Grand Canal Dock is good friend MF’s 31B… a grand old lady!

PSSS – The photo was taken so long ago with the little point and shoot… before it met a wet end in the Royal Canal. It’s good to still be able to use something from it’s galleries!

PSSSS – OK… I’ll go now!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Art, Boating, Dublin, Grand Canal, Ireland, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Calling Canvas?

  1. Pingback: PAINT | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

  2. Sallyann says:

    The vertical one gets my vote too, more colour, more cheerful looking. 🙂

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Mmmmm… I have a plan. How does a vertical one on a horizontal canvas sound? No, serious. I’m thinking of leaving white space… or a background colour blend all across the canvas and doing the picture in a portrait orientation…

      On 23 August 2014 01:33, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. joanfrankham says:

    I think vertical, reaching for the sky!

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

