Thanks… But No Thanks!!

A few weeks ago I mentioned that I’d be keeping the posts brief because I’d set a target to get a few short stories completed and submitted to publishers before the end of April. I think my personal target was three publishers. I managed to get two submissions away so I feeling chuffed with myself. There is much to still be done but one of my targets for May has already been met, allowing time for a few other activities.

The weather allowed time to spend catching up on blogging duties and homework. The “About” page has had an update. I’ve managed to catch up on visiting many fellow blogger’s sites. The results have been fun, leaving comments and likes as well as reading and seeing interesting places and posts. I’ve also gathered a few ideas for posts to do, inspiration comes from many different sources.

So, why the title? Well, to say thanks again to all the creative folk out there who provide hours of entertainment and enlightenment. It is great to see how you do things in your part of the world. The reciprocal visits have opened now friendships, some will hopefully last as long as I keep blogging.

However, and this is a BIG however, the visits to other blogs irked me sufficiently to prompt this mini-rant. As hard as I tried, there were some blogs where I just couldn’t persuade myself to press the like button. I would spend anything between five and fifteen minutes flicking from post to post before giving up, so please don’t accuse me of not trying.

You ask if there is a common theme? Yes, beauty and fashion. I specifically put beauty first. I’m a MAN! In many eyes I’m an OLD man. Don’t get me wrong, I love the female human form! So much so that I have a now-not-so-secret-desire to paint a nude… or heaven forbid, to photograph a nude! No, not a denuded plucked chicken… a real life, live sexy nude of the fairer species! There you have it, I have fantasies about strange things. Please note, I’ve not used the word obsession for fear of being branded a dirty old pervert.

OK, back the the beauty blogs. I don’t like makeup! My good lady almost never wears the stuff because there is NO NEED for her to do so. You know why I say that so bombastically? Because very early on in our relationship I told her so. She’s no miss perfect super model but I’ll tell you what, I would never have taken to her if she’d been caked with the stuff in the first place!

You know the old saying about beauty being only skin deep? Well, under the layers of stuff that saying goes out the window. How can you see the beauty if it’s covered up?

OK, I know there’s gonna be an outcry. The PC Police will hound me for being sexist and mean to the fairer sex! Sorry, just the opposite. Be natural, be yourself, a bit of lip gloss here and there won’t offend but the layers of brown muck some apply is a downright turn-off. If you want to disagree and say women in the workplace must look their best then I’ll say this to you…

I work in an industry where makeup is forbidden in the factory. Yes, microprocessors cannot work if even the tiniest speck of the stuff falls on them. The results? The women, all sorts of women… all shapes, sizes, colours and colouration, all sorts of skin tones… they’re all natural! Guess what? It enhances their looks!!

Another reason for not liking makeup? Many years ago… long before marriage, I kissed a very pretty girl on the neck. I still taste the utterly unpleasant toxin to this day! I spent the whole night throwing all sorts of drinks down my throat trying to get the stuff washed off. Neat whisky seemed to be the only antidote. Needless to say, our friendship was very brief.

OK… enough baring my soul. I cannot find any joy in looking through pages filled with images of little bottles and advice about the application of their contents. If that’s all you blog about then many folk, both men and women, may visit once and never return! Good, you may say. Then so be it!

Just before I spew my final spew on the matter. The fashion and beauty blogs that show the odd photo of a cup of coffee/ tea/ water/ lemonade/ whiskey/ whatever… or a knitting pattern, or some other angle to femininity will get more visits and even likes from the likes of me.

Quod Erat Demonstrandum!! 

To smell well, that's a good thing... is it not??

Yes, of course my good lady likes to smell well, hence finding something to take snaps of!

PS – Does this photo now qualify my blog to be classed as a beauty blog??

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Factual Opinion, Family & Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thanks… But No Thanks!!

  1. Sallyann says:

    Love it. I often read your rants, not usually all the way through I will admit, and again I’ll admit, sometimes with my eyes rolling, but ranting is good for you, I used to write to a school friend, pour out all of my troubles and then throw the letter in the bin and re-write it, but the act of writing it down was as good as a rant and I felt loads better.
    Sorry, but one bottle of perfume doesn’t quite qualify you to be a beauty blog, but on the other hand, and at the risk of sounding soft, the amount of time and effort you put in makes it a beautiful blog instead.
    P.s. I’ve been playing at painting my nails, the pretty colours on the end of my fingers raise a smile or two so there might be a few pretty nail posts to come, but don’t worry, I haven’t gone over to the made-up side. 🙂

    Like

  2. de Wets Wild says:

    Sterkte met die manuskripte AJ!

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

