Freedom!

I have to confess… I’ve been looking at so many quotes lately that it seems to me I can write a novel using what I’ve read. Imagine… stringing together paragraph after page of the words of others. Could lead to much fun… or consternation. Imagine all the plagiarism suits…

Oh well… those who visit often will know I’m rather taken with the concept of freedom… that is after all, why we’re living in soggy, damp Ireland. Freedom is a privilege that can only be appreciated if you’ve ever been subjected to the fear of living where basic human rights are robbed from you daily. When I laid eyes on this quote I knew I’d found my quote for today’s post!

“Yes, my consuming desire is to mingle with road crews, sailors and soldiers, barroom regulars—to be a part of a scene, anonymous, listening, recording—all this is spoiled by the fact that I am a girl, a female always supposedly in danger of assault and battery. My consuming interest in men and their lives is often misconstrued as a desire to seduce them, or as an invitation to intimacy. Yes, God, I want to talk to everybody as deeply as I can. I want to be able to sleep in an open field, to travel west, to walk freely at night…”
Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

This passage shouts freedom. Do please type in the tag to visit older posts and you’ll grasp why I can’t ever stop to appreciate the sight of a single lady jogging in a quiet woodland or strolling along a distant canal towpath.

Lone lady out in the woods... the definition of FREEDOM!!!

I think it would be remiss of me not to mention that the idea of 3 days 3 quotes came from de Wets Wild who seems to have been put up to the challenge by Scrapydo2! It just so happens that Scrapy has a recent post titled Freedom…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Family & Life, Ireland, Photography, Travel, Walking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

