My Bird Restaurant

I use the lounge as my office during the day. There’s a few good reasons and one of them is that there’ s a patio door within meters of my “desk”… the coffee table. The camera is always close by so when the birds visit to eat at their restaurant I’m ready.

I’ve put out bread, usually whole-wheat and on occasion bird seed and over time the regulars have become accustomed to me watching them. They’ll even drop in when I have to door open. I have to say, I think they’re quite relieved with my efforts because they even come for a quick snack while it’s raining. They don’t have to go far looking for food because they know I’ll be looking out for them.

Chaffinch visits my bird restaurant... even in the wet!!

It’s mostly juvenile robins that visit but lately a few chaffinches have also plucked up the courage to drop in for an easy feed…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Ireland, Photography, Reflections, The Birds and the Bees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Bird Restaurant

  1. Felicity says:

    Beautiful shot. I have hummingbirds that come to the porch; one little female in particular has become very bold, stopping to hover and look in the front door every time she passes. I can’t decide if she’s thanking me for the homemade nectar, or scolding me for not giving her her very own ‘table’. 😉

    Like

  2. joanfrankham says:

    that is lovely that they are so tame and they trust you, I am sure word of your good restaurant will spread among the bird community!

    Like

  3. garym6059 says:

    I love feeding the birds also, something very relaxing about it.

    Like

  4. That’s really sweet. It must brighten up your day immensely. 😃

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      It does. As I sit here the birds are all calling in asking for food. I’ll give them some as soon as I post this!! 😉

      On 26 August 2015 at 02:40, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

