The Artist’s Eye

I don’t do the daily prompts but I couldn’t pass this one by. I’ve been looking for an excuse to show this piece. It’s not been framed yet and the light wasn’t great but I think the image stands up well enough to be shown. I’ve long been a fan of both Piet Mondrian and Jackson Pollock and after many, many hours I think I may well have managed to get both their influences onto one canvas.

I’m not too sure if the loose Pollock can be imposed on the tight Mondrian but my eye tells me there is a certain harmony to be found in the unknown.

My good lady showed me a quote that’s attributed to Julian Lennon. It makes perfect sense… when you’ve spent many hours wondering about the outcome of the piece you’re working on. Sometimes I think writing is a breeze when compared to birthing a bit of unique, experimental art!

“When you buy something from an artist you buy more than an object. You’re buying hundreds of hours of errors and experimentation. You’re buying years of frustration and moments of pure joy. You’re not buying just one thing, you’re buying a piece of a heart, a piece of a soul… a small piece of someone else’s life.” 

The artist's eye... my take on a cross between Pollock and Mondrian...

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Art, Family & Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Artist’s Eye

  1. Mio says:

    These words were amazing. It just took away my words

    —“When you buy something from an artist you buy more than an object. You’re buying hundreds of hours of errors and experimentation. You’re buying years of frustration and moments of pure joy. You’re not buying just one thing, you’re buying a piece of a heart, a piece of a soul… a small piece of someone else’s life.”

    Like

  2. lifelessons says:

    Glad you had a chance to show this piece. I like it!! I have a friend who, when someone asks how long it took to make a piece of her sculpture, says, “55 years!” This is how long she has been doing art…And it is absolutely correct. A beginner might not be able to create her piece in a month. It is that accumulation of skills and wisdom and experience that allows her to create it in a matter of days.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Your words, and those of your friend, are so true. Thanks for sharing them… it puts my few hours in perspective… o_O

      On 20 December 2015 at 05:30, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. It’s a nice work of arte! Indeed it’s a good combination of Mondrian’s squares and Pollock’s drippin technique, but also red, yellow and blue are typical colours of Calder’s art! And you can go on and find a lot of comparisons. I like the dripping technique as it let’s you soften the squares in the background. Cheers!

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanks for your thoughts. I see what you mean about Calder’s work. His oils are interesting. It’s got me thinking! Thanks 😉

      On 20 December 2015 at 00:18, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

