Christmas Tree!

I’m not going to say much about the tradition of chopping down trees to just discard them a few days after Christmas. Mind you… I used to do it a long, long time ago in South Africa. My excuse? Pines are exotic and invasive… so, that afforded me the duty of helping the environment.

However, the trees in today’s photo are, to my best knowledge, still alive and growing. But… these trees may have sniffed that I’d done their distant cousins in many years ago for they took revenge on me. How so? We spotted them in the Wicklow Mountains. It seems some folk have taken to creating a new tradition… decorating trees in the wild.

So… on the day we stopped to take photos, purposely for a post the next Christmas, the ground was rather soggy. I jumped off the little bit of high ground just to the left of the trees. My left foot twisted in the wet turf and I went over. As you do when you fall… you protect your camera. The result… I sprained my ankle and tendons in the top of my foot. Needless to say… I walked with difficulty for weeks after. And to think… all that pain just to bring you this photo!

Decorated Christmas trees out in the wilds... as seen in the Wicklow Mountains - Ireland

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Dublin & Leinster Architecture & Other Interesting Sights, Family & Life, Ireland, Local Curiosity, Local Places, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Tree!

  1. Nirodaigh says:

    Poor you, sorry for laughing a little (I can just picture it) but I love the photo! Hope that helps, and you are back in fighting fit form! Happy new year!

    Like

  2. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    There is a walk we do and someone does something similar. You can see last year’s tree at https://murtaghsmeadow.wordpress.com/2014/12/29/drummin-wood-walk/. We’ll be checking to see if they do the same this year too:)

    Like

  3. Thom Hickey says:

    Best wishes for a healthy and happy Christmas. Thom.

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

