Dublin Alphabet – K for Kilcock?

OK… I’m taking serious liberties here. Kilcock is actually situated in Co Kildare… and Co Meath. But, and here’s my justification, it’s our home town… and it’s a dorm town along the commuter belt to Dublin. Does that justify it’s inclusion in my Dublin Alphabet series? Well, as it’s my blog the answer must be yes! There’s not much I can tell you about the village that you can’t find on the Wiki page so, I’ll share some photos with you instead…

PS – By the way… I took the liberty of adding a few details to the Wiki page… why not? I mean… I do have some unique content here at OMBH!

PSS – I’ve taken the liberty of adding a St Patrick’s Day cake photo as it’s only a day or so to go before we get there… again!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Boating, Castles, Crosses & Churches, Dublin & Leinster Architecture & Other Interesting Sights, Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Ireland, Photography, Reflections, Royal Canal, Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Dublin Alphabet – K for Kilcock?

  1. Johan Steyn says:

    WoW!! Beautiful place you are living in.

    Like

  2. Pingback: April A to Z – Kilcock and Kildare | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

  3. I worked in Kildare in 2003/4 and was in Kilcock once a week at least. I am glad to see you had immortalised Mick the Barber’s intercontinental business in 2011 : https://ouchmybackhurts.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/kilcock-centre-of-the-universe/ – is it still going now?

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanks for stopping by. Yep, the barber shop has retained Mick’s name. His family managed to buy the shop and although it’s been renovated and under the management of a rather great young lad I believe Mick’s soul is still there somewhere. I found it difficult to return after Mick’s passing but eventually my good lady and I went in and chatted with Susan, his sister. She cut my hair and after that I’ve been back for every bon-chop.

      On a slightly different note… I’ve had a look at your blog and see it’s of a medical nature. Would you at any stage have done any research into statin poisoning? Also, where in the world do you find yourself these days? 😉

      On 29 March 2016 at 07:09, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

      • I am sorry to hear that Mich has passed. And I am glad to hear that his spirit lives on.

        Thank you for looking at my blog and the comments you have made. As you write, it is interesting how blogging develops – what began as a purely personal thing has gradually evolved into something different.

        My academic interests are more in medical education and trying to use technology in healthcare appropriately (not blind enthusiasm!) so i am afraid I haven’t done any research into statins in general or poisoning in particular!

        Seamus

        Like

        • aj vosse says:

          I look forward to visiting you blog from time to time. I think I’ll enjoy reading your take on educating hose in the health care system. Maybe some need a bit of enlightenment about the dangers of long therm use of drugs… especially drugs that affect so many lives. My biased view I know but my GP and a few others are always saying to me that education must be ongoing, even for medical practitioners! 😉

          On 30 March 2016 at 04:43, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

          >

          Like

  4. Christina B says:

    Beautiful! The boats and canal photos should be on postcards!

    Like

  5. de Wets Wild says:

    Ek is gaande oor die kanaal!

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

