The Garden of Remembrance…

This weekend, in Ireland, there are many parades and ceremonies commemorating the centenary of the 1916 Easter Rising. I’m not Irish and even though we’ve been here for 15 years there are certain things I steer well clear of as I don’t always agree with the way memories of past occurrences are perpetuated.

Yes, I know there will be many who say I have no right to express an opinion. However, I’d love to see a balanced approach to the interpretation of events of yesteryear and how forgiveness and acceptance is needed to help heal old scars. I respect history and the lessons that are there for all to learn. I also respect that many lives were lost in the pursuit of Irish Freedom, on home soil and abroad.

The Irish Flag flying proudly over the statue of the “Children of Lir” in the Garden of Remembrance is a proud reminder of history’s lessons. Yes, let us think on the lessons of the past and celebrate freedom with the people of Ireland. After all, freedom is what really keeps us together so to value that precious gift is to accept that tolerance and forgiveness is part and parcel of maintaining freedom!

The Irish flag flies proudly over the Children of Lir in the Garden of Remembrance, Dublin, Ireland

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Dublin, Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Ireland, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Garden of Remembrance…

  1. Nirodaigh says:

    Well said, never an easy topic to dive into as emotions can still run high bit I fully agree. Without forgiveness we cannot move on and learn from past mistakes.

    Like

  2. I definitely understand your sentiments. Respecting other people’s culture and practice doesn’t necessarily mean that I have to get involved in it.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Yep… especially when you wonder about some of the habits resulting from past happenings! 😕

      On 28 March 2016 at 15:39, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

