April A to Z – A for Anniversary

So… we get the challenge under way on a personal note. With a challenge of another kind. Yep… later this month my good lady and I will hit one of those marital bliss milestones. I have posted in the past about anniversaries and that most typical of men things… forgetting all about them.

Some would say I should put a reminder in my phone… or send myself a pre-scheduled text or e-mail but in those bygone days we only had our memories and little black books to rely on. Imagine if I got the wrong info from the little black book! Then I most likely wouldn’t be on about anniversaries today. Annihilation maybe? Abomination? Apocalypses? I think you get the picture.

Talking of pictures… below is a hand-drawn map we put together to get folk to our wedding. Yep, there were no G-Maps… or sat-nav or mobile phones or mass production e-mail circulation devices or apps to get the message out. Remember the photo-stat machine and land line? How about hand delivery or snail mail?

The map! X marked the spot where the wedding happened... almost 25 years ago!!

We had fun… then and in all the years gone by. We’ve had our fair share of ups and downs… but hey, that’s life!

C’est la vie mon amour mon cheri…

Happy 25th!! To both of us!!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Ireland, Sport, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to April A to Z – A for Anniversary

  1. Pingback: April A to Z – Pernickety Party Pooper! | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

  2. zuludelta45 says:

    I love maps……..and yours is as great at Google Maps!

    Like

  3. Congrats on 25 years together! Love the hand-drawn map. 🙂

    Like

  4. cocoaupnorth says:

    That is precious, 25 years is a big milestone. Congratulations! Love the map, it’s so original 🙂

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Feels like 50 some days… ha ha!! Thanks a million! Yes… not only was the map fun but it is a reminder today that the creativity was always there somewhere! 😀

      On 3 April 2016 at 08:50, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  5. galeweithers says:

    Congrats and an excellent idea for the challenge!

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thank you and thank you! Seems it was a very wise choice… judging by all the positive response!! Fun too!! 😉

      On 2 April 2016 at 23:13, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  6. mmcnellis says:

    Congrats! I started to feel the generational gap when I turned 30 a few years ago and kids in the karate classes I taught had no clue what answering machines were. Love the hand-drawn map!

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      😉 I hope they knew who Bruce Lee was!! The map was fun then and still now after 25 years is bringing a smile, thanks! 🙂

      On 2 April 2016 at 01:14, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

  7. shortybears says:

    nice post.

    Like

  8. Great challenge opening post – Happy Anniversary!

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanking you! Just lucky our anniversary is in April… otherwise my opening post may have been something less special! 😉

      On 1 April 2016 at 22:09, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

  9. abetterjulie says:

    Congratulations! I love that map.

    Like

  10. lissa says:

    I’m forgetful and I’m not a guy but I guess I wouldn’t really understand as I’m not married. anyway, an early congrats to you and your lady.

    have a lovely day.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Oh thank you… you’ll know one day… maybe. Husbands have a bad habit of forgetting… very detrimental… leads to all sorts of marital sanctions!! 😉

      Like

  11. Christina B says:

    Happy anniversary in advance!

    Like

  12. Srivi says:

    Congratulations in advance for you anniversary 🙂
    The hand drawn map looks so nice! A perfect way to start the challenge I should say!

    Like

  13. ahamkar says:

    Felicitations! And wish you many more years of martial bliss 🙂

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      What a great “F” word!! Fortunaley it’s longer than four letters!! o_O Yes, let’s hope for many more years of bliss!! (I’m reading many more arguments and differences of opinion in there as well! 🙂 Thanks!! 😀

      Like

  14. I wonder what happened to my little black book – and all those featured in it? Congratulations, you managed 18 years more than me. Perhaps I ought to find that book!

    Keith’s Tiny Tales! My obscure word today is absquatulate

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanks… the good lady and I both had a first innings to learn from… so, second time around it is definitely better! 😉 Tell you what… if I could get hold of a few folks’ little black books I’d likely be a very well off man!! Happy hunting! 😛

      Like

      • Haha! So true. OK, hands up! Mrs Keith the First became Mrs Keith the Second after a bit of well deserved time out! I should have known better.

        Like

        • aj vosse says:

          I went and asked my boss at the time for a bit of holidays. He asked why? I aid to go get married (the second time) he just shook his head and muttered something about not understanding how a man wants to break back into prison! 😈

          Like

  15. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Congrats for the end of the month! Hope you are planning a great celebration. Lovely map too!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ondray says:

    Happy Anniversary.What a great way to start the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  17. Karan says:

    many congratulations on completing that milestone years, wish you many more years of togetherness with happiness and love 🙂

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanking you… yes, in this case the old saying the more the merrier is very true!! 😉

      On 1 April 2016 at 07:55, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

  18. Nandini says:

    Congratulations to you and to yours “mon amour mon cheri” and many more ahead. God Bless 🙂

    Like

  19. de Wets Wild says:

    Veels geluk AJ! Ek hoop julle beplan iets groots?

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Seker ‘n braai… die ou Rantjies is skaars… maar ons sal ‘n plan maak! Dankie vir die wense! 😀

      On 1 April 2016 at 02:58, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Rainee says:

    Congratulations! I hope you have many more happy years 🙂

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanks!! Still a few weeks to go but as A is first in the alphabet it must get out of the way now… and also, then I can’t be blamed for forgetting… again! 😉

      On 1 April 2016 at 02:25, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

