April A to Z – XENO!

A black and white harmony... different folk happily sharing the same space!

Ever since I began my deliberations with myself about today’s post the above photo has been lurking in the background. There’s something about the image that suggests peace and harmony, even though it was taken on a busy Dublin street. To continue… I’m going to visit friend Urban Dictionary for a bit of help, again… because it just seems so correct for today’s topic.

xeno

1) Stranger; foreigner; alien
2) Strange; foreign; exotic; different

New Latin, from Greek, from Xenos – Stranger
Feminine = Xena; Masculine = Xeno

One can be immediately drawn to the rather negative and unpleasant thought of xenophobia. This is a human behaviour we could all do without and I don’t really want to go there because I’ve seen and experienced far too much of it.

Why don’t we rather slant toward xenophilia and accept that different is good? Different is the way to go to enhance relationships and grow our minds. Why don’t we stop paying lip service to the concepts of cosmopolitanism and bridge cultural divides? I don’t know. What I do know is that it’s not great to be discriminated against because I’m foreign.

PS – Different yet so the same… we hurt and bleed the same way

PPS – There’s a lot to be said for hybrid vigour

PPPS – Back to tolerance and respect

PPPPS – Back to understanding

PPPPPS – Just be open!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Dublin, Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Ireland, Photography, Travel, Walking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to April A to Z – XENO!

  1. I love this whole post. I love the concept, the word you chose(“xenophilia”), and your amazing photos. When I look at this gallery, I’m struck by the colors and the movement, the life and the love – a feast for the eyes and heart. So much beauty on so many levels!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The day we bridge cultural divides most of this cruel world’s problems will over.

    A bit of A-Z nonsense!

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Yes… unfortunately it’s human nature that gets in the way all the time! Sad…

      On 28 April 2016 at 20:23, Ouch!! My back hurts!! wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Srivi says:

    Loved the pictures 🙂
    Yes.. we all bleed the same way… Hope we all slant towards xenophilia soon ;)…

    Like

  4. Christina B says:

    We all just want our little place under the sun, it doesn’t matter where we’re from. Great gallery!

    Like

  5. Wise words and I enjoyed those images – I know it’s a cliche, but pictures really do paint a thousand words. Great post, AJ.

    Susan A Eames from
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Great post and great gallery:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. RuthsArc says:

    Great post for X. Let’s all embrace diversity.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. HesterLeyNel says:

    I overheard my dad saying one day (with reference to ducktails and hippies):”I don’t understand the youth of today – they all try so hard to be different, but the more different they are, the more the look the same to me.”

    Liked by 1 person

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

