April A to Z – Z is for Zimmer!

Yes… in my world Z is for Zimmer! Not the metal frame type of zimmer… well, not just yet! OK, let me explain. When this blog was born it took on the name of Ouch My Back Hurts. There was a reason for that. We’d just moved house… to a smaller, less expensive estate house in a neighbouring village. Times were tight… much like now.

I don’t like living in the confines of towns and estates. I’m a boy from the African plains… space and wide-open is in my blood. The need for swinging my arms freely is part of my DNA… hard-wired into my soul! However, when one is making necessary life’s adjustments one cannot be too pernickity or picky. One must do what one must do.

This left me in a rather unpleasant situation. I wanted to get out of the house but I’d done an already tender back more damage during the move. So, to be comfortable while walking, I stooped a little. I also walked slowly. All good and well while I was indoors. Not too many people to see me struggling so not too many strangers to point and snigger.

Then, in a flash of blinding half bricks falling one hit me! Throw a grand-kid (or two) in the stroller and push them along at a sedate pace. And so I ventured out into the new environment. I soon found that the Royal Canal wasn’t too far away and this lead to many a day’s walk along the towpath. That, in turn, lead to me being challenged to walk the length of the canal, which I did in sections, once my back was back to semi normal!

That’s the story behind me and my Zimmer! That was five years ago and the little fella’s no longer fit into a stroller. However, their mammy has had a few more little ones… so, guess what? I’ve taken to pushing a new Zimmer about! A week or so ago I set off on a different route (because they’ve also moved) with a little madam firmly snuggled into her buggy. From red to purple! From one voyage of discovery to the next!

GDN and the new zimmer!! Down Arklow way... heavy on the back!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Ireland, Local Curiosity, Photography, Royal Canal, Seasons, Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to April A to Z – Z is for Zimmer!

  1. Pingback: Friday Fact – Freedom! | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

  2. Srivi says:

    That’s a lovely way to end the challenge 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Susan Scott says:

    Well done for completing the challenge AJ in between your zimmer walks! Take a deep breath now … great to meet you along the way ..

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanks… I’ll take a deep breath! Until tomorrow… and the next day! Good to meet you as well… I’m sure we’ll share more cyber space in the future!! 😉

      Like

  4. Liz Brownlee says:

    You’ll have to borrow some, once your own family runs out of little ones! Although I guess walking with them when they are older and admiring the scenery ad wildlife would be just as good! Congratulations on reaching Z! ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’ll run out of little ones eventually, so what then? A chauffeur driven stretched mobility scooter maybe? Thanks for a thoroghly entertaining April.

    My final A-Z story features 13 neglected Z words

    Liked by 1 person

    • aj vosse says:

      Yep… a stretched, off road version will have to do me! One that’s good on the beach as well!! Oh, wait a minute… how about a grown-up buggy… the kids can push me!! 🙂
      Thanks for your entertainment as well… your words and word play was rather enlightening. Between you and Rosey I’ve been kept well balanced on the tips my phonetic toes!! 🙂

      Like

  6. cocoaupnorth says:

    What delightful walks you have with the young ones! Beautiful:)

    Like

  7. That’s a lovely post to end the Challenge on – and congratulations on the latest grandchild!

    Susan A Eames from
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Like

  8. Christina B says:

    That’s lovely. I bet the little ones enjoy/enjoyed it just as much. ‘n Boer maak ‘n plan!

    Like

  9. HesterLeyNel says:

    Awwww sweet, and a brilliant solution to a problem. Ek het so pas jou facebook bladsy ontdek. Hoekom nou eers? Ek gaan nou eers daar kuier.

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Hoe sê die voorvaders? Don’t see problems, seek solutions!
      Ek en FB is nie regrig goeie vriende nie!! Ek kan nie al die drek en stront verdra wat daar omgaan nie! Ek het juis op die oomblik ‘n issue met hulle! Ek het my blaai se funsie verloor en hou word ek gedwing om dinge agterom te doen!! Ek wil nie ‘n profiel hê nie… OH well, such is life!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Great exercise, and I bet your grandkids love it! Enjoy every moment!

    Like

  11. I miss the days of walking with the added exercise from pushing a zimmer full of child. People wondered how I lost the baby weight…by pushing the baby weight of course. 😀

    Like

  12. RuthsArc says:

    A lovely way to end the alphabet challenge AJ. Enjoy your walks and time with the grandkids.

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

