Narrow… as in Narrow Boat

It’s been a while since I last featured boats and canals. So… my first thought when this week’s challenge arrived was narrowboat or narrow boat, whichever you feel like choosing! I’m not gonna tell you about the history but basically they’re narrow because it cost so much to build canals.

So, what did the good engineering folk of those days do? They built skinny boats to fit skinny canals. The lock sizes also played a part but hey, you’re not here for a history lesson… you’re here to see a few photos of narrow… and other, canal boats! Before I give you a gallery… do click here to visit my Royal and Grand Canal pages…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Boating, Dublin & Leinster Architecture & Other Interesting Sights, Family & Life, Grand Canal, Ireland, Photography, Reflections, Royal Canal, Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Narrow… as in Narrow Boat

  1. restlessjo says:

    Love em 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Today I Am Narrow Minded | Lillie-Put

  3. thatssojacob says:

    Lovely post AJ! BTW, did you check out my latest post? It’s a fun new generator game…play it, and post your results in my comments!

    Like

  4. Rupali says:

    Nice gallery.

    Like

  5. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Lovely gallery:)

    Like

  6. Sulke pragtige prente…lyk te mooi om waar te wees. Mal oor die boot met die Suid-Afrikaanse vlag!

    Like

  7. HesterLeyNel says:

    ♫ ♫ When I get older, I will be stronger | They’ll call me freedom | Just like a waving flag ♫ ♫ Ahem. Sorry, this is what you get for showcasing pics of the SA flag in a foreign country. Love your canal boat photos (I still remember the lesson you taught me during April A-Z challenge – I will never again refer to the canal as a river). Excellent response to this prompt.

    Liked by 2 people

    • aj vosse says:

      To tell you the truth… your melody made me think of something else… yesterday, Leonard Cohen’s Marianne passed on! That made me sad… even though I don’t know her I have loved the song forever! Maybe I must do a post!
      Yep… canal’s are alien to us “boer-kinners af die plaas af!” It’s a totally different lifestyle… one I can do with!
      I’ve been fortunate to meet a few Saffers along the Irish canals… fun! 😉

      Like

  8. RuthsArc says:

    A fascinating collage of narrow boats and an interesting interpretation of the prompt AJ.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Narrow (Wired Path) | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Sallyann says:

    It’s been a while since I’ve strolled along a canal side too. I’ve got a busy few months coming up but I must rectify that as soon as I get chance. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lovely collection. (Suzanne)

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

