Rare

I think Ben has to be a mind-reader because he’s got this week’s challenge just right. I mean… summer and rare in one sentence? Yes… we’ve had another season of confirmation that the earth’s warming is a myth stirred up by the scaremongers who have nothing really concrete to do with their time. However, that’s a story for another day.

For today I’ll stick to the results of the global cooling phenomenon. Yes, with no real signs of summer the insects that need the sustained warmth have become rare. Bees and butterflies are scarce. I reckon, if I compare my recordings for this year, that we are more than 60% down on sightings. So… when on a dull grey day I spot a Holly Blue I get excited!

Rare sighting this year... Holly Blue out on a grey day... yes, they need to survive somehow!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Factual Opinion, Ireland, Photography, Seasons, The Birds and the Bees, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Rare

  1. MickETalbot says:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Global_warming do you really think that it is scare mongering? Can you explain why the polar ice caps and glaciers are melting? I honestly thought that you were bing a bit tongue in cheek too.

    Like

  2. MickETalbot says:

    Reblogged this on My Garden Biodiversity and commented:
    Had a few Summery days this year, yeah! Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, all in August too. ☻

    Like

  3. MickETalbot says:

    Rare, I think that just about sums up summer for the past good few years. Can you remember last summer, a Wednesday in August, the only day I didn’t get wet.
    Love your Holly Blue!

    Like

  4. Beautiful photo and I’ll chime in on the no-global-warming sentiment. 🙂

    janet

    Like

    • MickETalbot says:

      Unfortunately global warming is a fact, and its cause pollution of the atmosphere. Perpetrators, nature to a lesser degree, but sadly the human race is its main cause in all manner of ways. To mention them all would take forever, but the two main causes are; deforestation, and the pollution of the oceans, both of which are now struggling to produce the oxygen and absorb carbon dioxide. Its the latter and its excess in the atmosphere being the root cause.

      My comment on the British summer was made with tongue in cheek, having said that have you seen the UK’s weather forecast for early September, don’t pack your anti uv sun lotion away just yet.

      Respect and best wishes to you and all,

      Mick

      Liked by 1 person

      • aj vosse says:

        Mankind is his own downfall, that is for sure! Most of what I say on the topic of the weather and the effects it has on our lives is tongue in cheek because it’s simply bigger than us and we can’t really do much about the effects. Thanks for calling around… and yes, is it not tradition that we have a semblance of summer when the kids go back to school? 😉

        Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Rare | stenoodie

  6. Pingback: Rare (Shoe) | What's (in) the picture?

  7. That’s a gorgeous butterfly! I’ve seen nothing but cabbage whites this year down here in West Cork. 😦

    Susan at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

    Like

  8. Fabulous shot! I’ve never seen one of these. 🙂

    Like

  9. HesterLeyNel says:

    Baie besonders

    Like

  10. perdebytjie says:

    Dis verskriklik mooi!

    Like

  11. Sjoe ja dit is besonders

    Like

  12. I love that: deep and vibrant colours.

    Like

  13. Rainee says:

    Beautiful! I haven’t seen one of those before 🙂

    Like

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Rare – WoollyMuses

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

