History

History is relative. Yes… if you’re from a “new world country” then your perception of history, as based on western norms, could be slightly skewed. I often have to remind myself, especially when walking along the canals, that living in the “old world” adds a depth to our perception. I’ve spent countless hours along the Royal Canal yet, as a man-made feature it is really an ancient addition to the landscape. I’ve often mentioned that the Royal Canal reached Kilcock more that 20 years before the 1820 Settlers arrived in the South Africa’s Eastern Cape.

I’m grateful to Ailsa for this week’s challenge as I will be away from home for a few days. That means I can prepare three or four day’s worth posts, so… please don’t think I’m ignoring you. Life has just been getting in the way in the last few days…

PS – Yes… I know I’ve milked the Kilcock Harbour photos but hey, I’m sure you’ll forgive me…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Ireland, Local Curiosity, Local Places, Photography, Reflections, Royal Canal, Travel, Walking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to History

  1. RuthsArc says:

    History certainly has different depths between the old countries and new world.

    Like

  2. de Wets Wild says:

    Geniet die breuk, AJ!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Travel Theme-History – WoollyMuses

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

