Autumn Harvest!

Yes… unfortunately, in the northern hemisphere it is that time of the year again. Autumn. We were down Arklow way so Pepsi collared me for a country lane walk. Just for the fun. The autumn hedgerow fruit was abundant, especially the blackberries. I didn’t pick many but if I was better prepared I could have arrived back at daughter’s house with a sackful.

However… strolling along, singing my song… I was reminded of a distant past memory. Autumn Harvest Crackling! Yes… we used to call it apprentice wine… or student wine… or the day before payday wine. It was inexpensive and when enjoyed cold, not half bad for a white wine. I wasn’t quite sure if I had the name right so while preparing this post I did a bit of Big G searching and lo and behold… I stumbled on a post by a fellow fan.

Do click here to enjoy Dan Varoy’s take on the good stuff! One thing I seem to recall above all else… the next morning’s headaches!! I soon learned that white wine had that effect on me… especially when one drinks the stuff with gay abandon, on a sweltering summer’s day! OK… back to the more sedate blackberries. Mind you… I wonder if blackberry wine wouldn’t pack a punch either?

Autumn harvest... yes, unfortunately it is that time of the year again here in Ireland!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Dublin & Leinster Architecture & Other Interesting Sights, Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Fun and Food, Ireland, Photography, Seasons, The Birds and the Bees, Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Autumn Harvest!

  1. Pingback: Memory Builders… the Blackberries! | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

  2. Pingback: Blackberry and Apple Loaf… | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

  3. Murtagh's Meadow says:

    Seems quite a good year for blackberries – despite the rain!

    Like

  4. Sallyann says:

    Elderberry wine was my dad’s favourite, and of course the best excuse ever for me to be out climbing trees.
    We used to be sent out collecting the berries, we’d take a bucket, climb trees and throw down bunched of berries to the “bucket holder” below, then when the bucket was full we’d separate the berries from their stalks with our special berry separating instrument… We’d drag the stems through the prongs of a fork… This would leave a shallow layer of berries in the bucket.
    Then we’d climb the tree and start over again. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. perdebytjie says:

    Toe ek ‘n kind was, het ons so ‘n braambos in ons tuin gehad.Ek onthou hoe lekker dit was.Pragtige foto,AJ.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Toortsie says:

    Hoofpyn? Is dit as gevolg van kwaliteit? Of kwantiteit?

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful photo.

    Like

  8. de Wets Wild says:

    Ek dink die bessies is baie gesonder vir jou as die wyn ou AJ!

    Like

  9. Dis die mooiste foto en maak my sommer lus om daardie brame te proe!

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

