Memory Builders… the Blackberries!

Back to last week’s Autumn Harvest post! I mentioned there that I spotted an abundant crop along the hedgerows. Well, what I didn’t mention was the fact that when the two grandsons arrived home after school, they twisted my arm to take them out for a harvesting sortie. I was keen because I really want to attempt making a bit of BB wine! Why not? I mean… if Ma Nature hands us her bounty we should surely celebrate her generosity.

Of course Pepsi tagged along. And, as you know me by now… the camera finds a way of going. I must say… there was much squabbling and gnashing of teeth. The two lads even took to fighting about whose berries were whose… as if they had planted and cultivated their own patch. And oh boy, did they wail when getting zapped by the odd nettle… or bramble hook. Fun, I tell you… with capitals! FUN!!

I eventually managed to coax them into a semblance of cooperation… and even managed to arrange a hasty photo shoot. I think you’ll agree with me… the photos are worth a look… if even just for their dramatic value!!

However, we managed to get home with the harvest. The kids wanted to make juice. Their mom was quick to protest and send us home with the bag of berries. Whooppee… I could attempt a bit of wine making! No… more protest ensued. My good lady insisted I would make loaves, so that’s what would become of the harvest. Bread… not wine! So… after a long and sordid journey, the berries found a few choice spots… in our bellies!!

Just in case you’re wondering… you can find the recipe here… I’ve even updated the post to reflect a few minor adjustments!

Thanks to Sallyann for the idea of the slice flower

NOTE: Please check your spam folders… my comments may be lodged there…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Family & Life, Fun and Food, Photography, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Memory Builders… the Blackberries!

  1. perdebytjie says:

    Oulike blog…die kleinkinders lyk baie woelig!Daardie bessiebrood lyk njammies.!😀

    Like

  2. O liewe land, daardie bessiebrood lyk sooo lekker! Die kleinseuns lyk na ‘n vreugdevolle handvol – gelukkig help Pepsi om al daai energie op te gebruik.

    Like

  3. Amazing Blackberry is making a comeback!

    Like

  4. Osyth says:

    Scrumptious! I favour an apple and blackberry cake with the addition of mace but i can feel a contest ensuing with these delectable looking loaves. A change is as good as a rest so I’ll give them a go!

    Like

  5. RuthsArc says:

    This post brought back happy memories of blackberrying as a kid with my grandparents 🙂

    Like

  6. Sallyann says:

    It makes a good flower … I bet it tastes good too.
    I’m thinking next weekend I might finally get around to a bit of blackberrying myself… bramble jelly is my aim this time though. Son-in-law has a similar liking for the stuff too, I’m thinking a jar or two of homemade bramble jelly should treat the tastebuds.
    I’ve not forgotten about the elderberry wine recipe… I’ve found it, I’m just trying to establish it’s source.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. HesterLeyNel says:

    Dit lyk vingerlek-lekker. Die seunsgesiggies is te dierbaar vir woorde – gelukkige oupa wat sulke lekkerte met kleinkinders kan deel.

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    Yummy.

    Like

  9. BLACKBERRIES—WORTH A TUSSLE WITH THE DOG! 🙂

    Like

  10. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    AH FLAVORFUL AND FUN OF MEMORIES! THE THORNS THROUGH THE JEANS…AND INFECTION…DID IT IN FOR ME! ANY LEFTOVERS—WITH OR WITHOUT ICECREAM???

    Liked by 1 person

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

