Thursday’s Thought – Moving Purge!

So… how do you spend a Sunday afternoon with the love of your life?

moving-purge

Well… if you’re me, you take Aran Island Girl’s advice!! Mind you… I first got myself a good tongue lashing for my comment… then we lit a memory braai… memories of events and happenings of the distant past!

We burned receipts/ invoices/ bank statements/ tax returns/ pension details/ business correspondence/ project documentation/ time-sheets/ address changes/ hidden love letters (ha-ha) / copies of CV’s – mine, Senior Son’s… and other bits and pieces too many to bother about! Some of the items were from so long back my good lady and I were still not even on each other’s Christmas card list… yes, we burned memories… we purged!!

Memory braai... a purge of magnitude!!

PS – If you’re wondering… the old braai has seen better days… so, it went to the skip… pity, it gave us many pleasurable hours… and meals!

PPS – Yes, I know the wheels still look good… I salvaged them! Waste not, want knot!

PPPS – Actually… I kept the drum and lid as well… for my smoker!

PPPPS – so… I didn’t really throw that much away!

PPPPPS – I have a conscience!

PPPPPPS – If you’re wondering about my ruddy complexion… it’s the fire… not the wine!!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Factual Opinion, Family & Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thursday’s Thought – Moving Purge!

  1. RuthsArc says:

    I like the phrase “memory braai”. It gives the process a sense of occasion. We did the same thing eighteen months ago, and haven’t missed any of it. Memories are as much in our minds as on papers and documents. Of course, photos and some things remain precious stuff.

    Like

  2. perdebytjie says:

    Haha,AJ…hierdie het my nou lekker laat lag! As ek so tussen die lyne lees,het die braaier nie ashoop toe gegaan nie!

    Like

  3. HesterLeyNel says:

    Haha @it’s the fire, not the wine. I went through this exercise (read exorcism) not too long ago. I sold off 80% of MY furniture and other belongings before we moved from a fair-sized family home to a seaside apartment. My husband refused to give up so much as his ten-year-old pair of sneakers which he has never worn. We are moving again at the end of the year, but this time I’ll be sending him away to visit his mother until we are settled in the new place.

    Like

  4. de Wets Wild says:

    Met als wat julle moes brand was die brandweer seker op “stand-by”?

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

