April A to Z – My Vinyl – the Eagles Live

I’m not going ask where you were or what you were doing when you first heard Hotel California. Does it really matter? What I will ask if you bought the single or were you one of more than 30 million LP buyers worldwide who thought it wise to support the Eagles endeavour to eternal fame?

I’m not going to retell their tale of excess and breakup or how we managed to see them in Dublin during our first summer in Ireland. I’m also not going to include the iconic Hotel California… but I’ll add the last song on that LP. Before I get there, I’ll share a few of their other tracks that have special meaning for me…

Pity I can’t find a good live clip. However, now that I’ve got your attention and you’re relaxing… I’ll keep you in that laid-back state. My pleasure, courtesy of the great legacy these lads left for us to enjoy.

One of the shortest songs ever done by the Eagles… and also one of the few covers they ever did, yet… one of their most memorable harmonies. Tasty… and for me, it will always raise a goose-bump or fifty. I can include so many other songs but before I go I’ll leave you with the last cut on side two of Hotel California… this song left it’s mark on me… it’s always a reminder of the ill’s mankind brings upon their environment and fellow man.

Pity there isn’t really good quality live cuts… I could easily include full live shows but I’m sure you can find those for yourself if you feel like doing a nostalgia trip…

Bliss… and the mood for summer to roll around so I can sit on a beach and enjoy the music and the views!

PS – Tomorrow’s Friday special? Pre-Brexit… pre-punk… pre many other things but great. I couldn’t make up my mind so I’ll be giving you two choices… a solo and a group… with US of A influences… both!

PSS – This post accidentally went live on Tuesday evening, Irish time. Thanks to the sharp folk who noticed my slip of the finger!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Daily Photo's and Chit-chat, Family & Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to April A to Z – My Vinyl – the Eagles Live

  1. ‘Hotel California’ is one of my favourite songs ever.

    Like

  2. Hotel California – I have to say I only know the single from compilation albums not the LP, but I love the song 🙂
    Sophie
    Sophie’s Thoughts & Fumbles – Dragon Diaries

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Happy you enjoy the song. Do yourself a favour and listen to some of their other less often played music… you could be pleasantly surprised! 😉

      Like

  3. slfinnell says:

    You need a Love button for this post 🙂 I actually have a bluegrass version of Hotel California I’ve been practicing on my banjo. You wouldn’t believe how great it sounds. Even with ‘me’ playing it LOL
    Happy A to Z’ing!

    Liked by 1 person

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

