April A to Z – My Vinyl – J for Johnny and Ian… and Eric?

Yesterday, Hester was trying to guess… or suggest, who today’s J’s would be. So… as I’m definitely NOT a John Lennon fan I will NOT feature him. Instead… I will return to my South African roots and throw in a great South African band from my wild days… a very popular band… I give you Juluka!

But… as friend Johnny fades into the distance I’d like to remind you of another great front-man from the seventies… Ian Anderson really turned Jethro Tull into a storm force… love him or hate him, he drove a hard bargain!

Just if you’re wondering about the Juluka song… I walked into our local vinyl and book seller. It’s a great place… look it up… Arklow’s Beat That Records and rooted around the piles and piles and rows and rows of used vinyl… and lo-and-behold, I found a copy of Juluka’s Scatterlings… some treasure to be found in the most unlikely places!

So… how could I pass by the letter J without leaving you with at least one track from the great Eric Clapton’s Just One Night? Just One Night must be in almost any child of the seventies’ collection. You’ll all know it so I’m leaving you with one of the all time classic’s from that LP… but with a twist (and friend’s help) from another show… enjoy!!

So… we’re negotiating ourselves to midpoint of the challenge… what will I give you for “K”? Leo… King of the jungle??? No… but there’s a clue in there somewhere!!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Art, Family & Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to April A to Z – My Vinyl – J for Johnny and Ian… and Eric?

  1. HesterLeyNel says:

    😡 Dis ok, jy het darem een Johnny ingesit waarvan ek ook hou. Johnny Clegg was very popular in Europe and became known as Le Zoulou Blanc (The White Zulu). It was in the early 80’s, I think, that Johnny and Michael Jackson were both touring France and one of the French newspapers dubbed them “the white man who wants to be black and the black man who wants to be white” (not a verbatim quote, but words to that effect). Remember?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. travel460 says:

    Vir ñ ‘k’? Wat van Elvis, the King? Of werk dit nie?

    Like

  3. Toortsie says:

    My gunsteling in my jongdae was 4 Jacks and a Jill. Sal dit slaag as J?

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

