Wildlife Wednesday

I have a friend… in South Africa. He goes by the name of Dries de Wet and his blog is where I’m often to be found when I need Africa. Needless-to-say, I miss the African bush and the wide open spaces but that hasn’t stopped me from exploring the Irish outdoors. I’ve tried, as best I could, to educate myself and to share some of my discovery moments. So, when we were driving down a hill in the Vale of Avoca and movement caught my eye, we stopped.

Red Deer? My first confirmed sighting of wild red deer! Then I noticed the clump of weeds in the middle of the field… but, I most likely wouldn’t have taken further notice of the patch of nettles if the doe hadn’t stopped to have a sniff.

She obviously instructed the hide-and-seekers to get out of their hiding spot… because a human had seemingly compromised their safety. If only they’d known I was only shooting away with a camera they may have come my way!

PS – I wonder, do red deer do twins?

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Co Wicklow, Family & Life, Ireland, Photography, The Birds and the Bees, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wildlife Wednesday

  1. Kom julle soms terug SA toe? Het julle nog familie hier?

    Like

  2. de Wets Wild says:

    Is dit nie die lekkerste om op iets moois af te kom wat jy nie verwag het nie!?

    Het die edelherte altyd natuurlik in Ierland voorgekom, of is hulle daarheen gebring deur mense iewers in die verre verlede?

    En dankie my vriend vir die gawe woorde!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rainee says:

    Lovely photos!

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

