Tuesday Tunes and Tides – Surf’s UP!!

Today we’ll have the photo first. For quite some time I’ve wanted to use this pic… because, if you’ve ever surfed you’d know this is not such a frequent sight. A left and right breaking wave! Now… before I go on, each time I see the photo, the first song I think of is a Fleetwood Mac song. Any guesses… before I share the song? No… don’t cheat just yet… but first, here’s the photo.

OK… so, I spent my early twenties in Port Elizabeth. Yep, PE… the home of a very special surfing legacy… and legend! Paddle-skiing and wave-skiing were born in PE! I kid you not! When I began drafting this post, a name popped into my head! John MacLeod, yes… he, the founder of Macski! Here’s a secret… I owned one… actually two, the first one got broken by a tube… so, to be hip… I had to get another one. (Do click on John’s name… to read a fascinating old post I discovered… so cool! Mind you, why not read the whole site… check out the photos!!! SUPER cool!!)

Those were the days… in the early eighties… beach parties… Bob Marley and other cool music! Many of us owned Kombi’s (VW Bus) or other panel-vans. Music, sleeping on the beach… in the car-park, waiting for the next set of waves to roll in! OK… now… back to the song I think of when I see that photo. Have you guessed? Yep… you can go your own way… that’s for sure!!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in #Arklow, #Co Wicklow, #Ireland, #music, Factual Opinion, Family & Life, Photography, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday Tunes and Tides – Surf’s UP!!

  1. Net Ek says:

    Love love LOVE Fleetwood Mac!!!!!

    En natuurlik ou Bob ook. Cool foto.

    Like

  2. perdebytjie says:

    A beach bum….nou word baie dinge vir my duidelik!😄😄😉

    Like

  3. Hmm, moes geweet het jy was ‘n surfer-dude.

    Like

  4. de Wets Wild says:

    Nooit gedink ek sou surfing fotos uit Ierland sien nie!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bernice says:

    I like the picture! We rarely go to the beach and never see surfers! Love Fleetwood Mac. One of the best bands ever! 💕 💕 💕

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.