Wildlife Wednesday – Monarch Munching

This is a comment I left over at de Wets Wild post about the African Monarch butterfly…

WoW Dries, you’ve taught me something new, again!
I really didn’t know that Africa (and surrounds) had it’s own Monarch! So, maybe the monarchs we saw in New Your weren’t the first we’ve seen! Maybe I’ve seen them back in SA!
I sometimes wonder just how unpalatable these brightly marked insects are. When we spotted our first Monarch in New York it landed on a buddleia butterfly bush… shared by a beauty of a praying mantis, who was munching on something. On later inspection of photos we realised the mantis was eating a monarch abdomen. We actually found a monarch wing close by… seemingly from the very butterfly the mantis was eating!! I think I will have to do another post about our finds in NYC, thanks to your share of the African Monarch!

Yep… that black and white “object” the mantis is holding (and chewing on) is a Monarch abdomen.

Do visit the de Wets Wild blog… an education and wild experience all rolled in one!

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in Photography, The Birds and the Bees, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wildlife Wednesday – Monarch Munching

  1. FaFantastic photograph, is it me or is that Mantis looking at the camera?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Irene says:

    Oh, my goodness! Just learned something new. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. perdebytjie says:

    Pragtige foto’s! Daardie hotnotsgot lyk eintlik skrikwekkend met daardie stukkie maag in sy pote!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. de Wets Wild says:

    Obviously “Monarch Abdomen” is meant for the more sophisticated palate. Like caviar. Ugh…

    Thanks too for the kind words about de Wets Wild!

    Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.