Hidden – Ailsa’s WTT

I’ll get this week’s post going slightly differently to what I was planning. I went to last year’s July folder, looking for a few specific photos but while scrolling through the door caught my eye. Obviously there must be something worth investigating hidden behind the door… why else would it be bricked shut now?

What's behind that door? Who knows? Who cares?

On that day I eventually found a bit of high ground. I could poke the camera over the wall…

The splendour of the Lyons Estate in Kildare, that's what's hidden behind that door!

Some place, the Lyons Estate in Kildare, not too far from Dublin. Now… what would be hidden behind those doors in the distance? The history… the intrigue… the myth and mystery… I wonder? A sordid tale or two… who knows? More importantly, if they know, will they tell?

Back to what I was really looking for. When I first thought of my response to Ailsa’s challenge this week I recalled my habit of hiding coins between the stones or under bridge staples, as I call them. Here’s a few slipped under a staple somewhere along the Royal Canal. I wonder if they’re still hidden there?

Hidden coins... are they still there?? I wonder...

Then, as we’re now onto the topic of the Royal Canal… I don’t have any photo’s to challenge Ailsa’s gator eyes… so, why not something else with eyes, hidden in the canal’s dark water?

Red eyes... watching from their hidden lairs...

Away from water… away from the extravagance of the large country estates and the fun of the fish. Another side of hidden I see quite often in the summer? No, not the sun hiding away, no… not the young swallows hiding in the nests… something else entirely. Cricket is a summer game… when the vegetation is at it’s thickest. Cricket is also a game where the batsman tries to hit the ball out of the province… which leads to curious scenes when fielders are hunting for the hidden ball. I’ve seen the lads going into a blackthorn hedgerows… and I’ve wondered!

What are you doing? Playing hide and seek? With the ball... in the hedge... hidden has a new meaning!

What else could I show you that’s not hidden so far you can’t see it? I could show you a wee boat in the middle of Dublin town… or, if you really think I’m having you on then see how many boats you see. Yep… the big one does seem to hide the others, does it not?

Boats... ships? What am I trying to hide? A tall ship among the structures or the rowing boats?

You know, I’m wondering if Ailsa hasn’t opened the barn doors here… I have so many good photos hidden in the folders. I may just keep going with the theme for a few days next week…

About aj vosse

Love life, live love... share life... share love!
This entry was posted in #Dublin, #Ireland, Dublin & Leinster Architecture & Other Interesting Sights, Grand Canal, Local Curiosity, Local Places, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hidden – Ailsa’s WTT

  1. adinparadise says:

    Love the guys looking for the cricket ball. 🙂 These are all good for the challenge.

    Like

  2. bevchen says:

    Fantastic photos! I’m going to have to add my vote for the door. It looks so intriguing!

    Like

  3. I’m a sucker for secret doorways and the lost ball made me smile.

    Like

  4. wildsherkin says:

    What a great post! The door is wonderful. It would make a great book cover image. OK, The Secret Garden has been done already but there’s always your first novel…

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Thanks… gosh, the door sure is getting great reviews.

      No… the door won’t work on my first novel… the ship may just do though… if I can make it look like an 1896 Dublin scene… 😉

      Like

  5. Ese' s Voice says:

    Beautiful choices – all of them, but I love the door and the boat the most. The mood of the photo, like there’s probably a secret behind the door…or maybe finding the door itself is the discovery. And the boats…well, there, s something about me and the boats that can’t be explained but always enjoyed. 🙂

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      Boats and doors… such evocative objects. Yes, I don’t know what it is about boats… they have me captivated too! The mystery of where they’ve been or where they’re going? 😉 Thanks for stopping by and commenting… it’s appreciated!

      Like

  6. vastlycurious.com says:

    I really like the hidden door! Mysterious! Do yo have the link to her challenge please?

    Like

    • aj vosse says:

      I love the mystery of doors… I’ve done the odd post about what could be hidden there. As for the link… click on the first (blue) hidden… that should take you there!

      Like

I value your 'likes' and comments, even though I don't always reciprocate, I care. Thanks for making the effort! God Bless!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.